RSS Feed

HOOKED ON QUINOA

Quinoa Parfait!I don’t know about you, but I wouldn’t mind starting my day off with this every morning!

 This is what I made for my husband for breakfast, this morning .  He was going golfing, and it’s a little chilly, actually, it’s down right freezing out there, even though the sun is shining!   I hope he dressed warm enough!  Oh well, a couple of bad shots and he’ll be peeling like a hot potato, hehehe. Anyway, this should stick to his ribs for a while!

I call it “QUINOA PARFAIT”  Have it for breakfast or dessert!

1 cup already cooked and cooled Quinoa

A handful of Walnuts

1 cup Pineapple, chopped

3/4 cup Goat Yogurt, or Cow

Org Strawberries, cut up

Org Blueberries

Real Maple Syrup, to drizzle on top

Slice off the bottom of the pineapple and then about a 1 inch thick slice, remove center and chop it up. Should be about a cup

Chop the walnuts, either by hand or blender, they don’t have to be fine

In a small bowl, blend the two together

If you are going to have this for breakfast, put some quinoa in a bowl, add the pineapple mixture, strawberries,  then, spoon some yogurt on top, garnish with blueberries and drizzle with maple syrup. YUMMM!  Lip smacking, plate licking good!

*Here’s a handy trick on  how to cut and keep your pineapple after you cut it:  Slice off the bottom end, since that’s what I notice, ripens first, then place it on a flat plate and put it in the fridge.*

You can make as much or as little as you want!  I think this would be a beautiful addition to any brunch.  Use a pretty glass bowl and layer the ingredients to make a visual statement.  Get creative with your own additions and have fun!

Don’t forget the Maple Syrup drizzle on top! 

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

4 responses »

  1. Who needs cheesecake when you can make “QUINOA PARFAIT“ 🙂

    Reply
  2. That is the most delicious looking picture! and its healthy too… thanks for this recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

