RSS Feed

AWESOME PLANT PROTEIN

People are funny!  I’ve seen people eat some pretty nasty things, either on TV,  or in person, but ask them to eat a vegetable and watch the horror on their face!  Kids especially, are good at that, Hehe.  Eat a bug yes, eat broccoli and you get, ” ooooooh no way, that’s gross!!!”

I had no idea there were so many people out there as passionate about cooking and eating healthy, as I am!   This experience is quite refreshing and motivating.  Hopefully, people won’t wait till they have medical issues before they start, but even so, it’s never too late.

Its fun, to see so many different talents and tastes there are out there!  It sure  makes it  easier to think outside the box, which is what you have to do,  if you go  gluten-free .  There are so many possibilities!  Some that you see right in front of you and some that you can’t wait to create,  from just seeing a photograph or reading a recipe.  The ideas are endless, if you  have an imagination and a love for flavour.  The one thing we do share, is our love for food and the constant search for something deliciously different!

Since discovering  the  “Mighty Mung Bean”, I’ve been trying to adapt it in my home cooking.   This next recipe is a soup I make often but usually with Kidney Beans and chunks of Chicken.   If you’re not a vegetarian,  you can add the chicken for more protein and flavour.  Just follow the recipe, and before you put the lid on to cook, on low,  throw in some raw, cut up chicken and cook for the required time.   It’s that simple!

MUNG BEAN SOUP

1 cup Mung Beans, screened and rinsed 3/4 times

1 med Onion, chopped

2 cups org Celery, chopped

2 cups org Carrots, chopped  OR  1 cup org Carrots  1 cup Butternut Squash

2 tbsp Olive Oil

2 1/2 cups Water or stock                          1/2 cups Tomato puree

1 tsp Turmeric                                                 1 tsp Garlic Powder

Crushed Chilies                                                Sea Salt, to taste

Olive Oil                                                              Parsley

In a small soup pot,  add Onions and Olive  Oil and turn heat to med, stir and cook till soft

Add Celery and Carrots and continue cooking for a few min

Add the Beans and stir in the Wine

Turn heat up to med high and let it come to a boil

Add the Tomato then the spices, stir and add the Water

Bring to boil, ( IF YOU ARE ADDING THE CHICKEN DO IT NOW)

Turn  heat down to low, cover and cook  for 35- 45 min (till beans are soft but not mushy)

When it’s ready to serve, drizzle with Olive Oil and throw some chopped Parsley on top.  Serve with Quinoa and dig in!  Delicious!

MY FAVOURITE SALAD

I love salads!  and this is one of my fave’s.

I put Goat Cheese and crisp up some Prosciutto in the frying pan (no oil necessary) instead of  Bacon, and throw some raw sunflower  and  pumpkin seeds in it.

 Here are the ingredients: 

Romain

cocktail Tomatoes,

Avocado,

Goat Cheese,

Prosciutto and Seeds

Olive Oil

Fresh Garlic or Garlic Powder

Sea Salt

And my special vinegar blend,

which if I told you what it is, I’d have to kill you………..Ah ha! Just joking!!!! 

I use half,  Apple Cider Vinegar and half, good quality Balsamic Vinegar

I’m sure I don’t have to tell you how to put a salad together………….do I?

Until next time………………

MANGIA

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

One response »

  1. I am totally using that dressing!! Sounds delicious!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

