RSS Feed

SUMMER FRESH PASTA

What’s better than fresh tomatoes and summer?  A pasta dish of course!

I don’t know about you, but I find the best tasting tomato out there, is what they call now…… the cocktail tomato!  A bit bigger than the cherry tomato, the cocktail tomato, is the only one I think, that tastes like a real tomato. Kind of like the ones  my parents used to grow in their garden when I was a kid, only smaller. 

This is a super easy dish to make and can be eaten hot or cold.  I use the Tinkyada brand, brown rice pasta, which I think is the closest, in comparison to wheat pasta, in taste and texture.  Hope you like!!

SUMMER FRESH PASTA

Brown Rice Pasta (or regular)

Baby Spinach

Tomatoes, chopped, with juice

Garlic, chopped (as much as you like)

Olive Oil

Sea Salt

Hot Chilies and Parmesan Cheese

I didn’t put amounts on the ingredients, because you can make as much, or as little as you like.  Just a few things to consider…..Make sure you use enough water when cooking rice pasta and add salt to the water.  Spinach wilts to nothing, so make sure you put a big handful per plate.  Use at least 3 of the reddest tomatoes, cut into quarters, with the juice, per plate.  It’s best to put the olive oil on twice.  The first pour will be on the steamed Spinach to mix in with the spinach water and you can add more if you need on the Pasta to make it shiny and keep it from sticking together. 

METHOD: Cook Pasta to “al dente”.  If you over-cook, it will get mushy and fall apart. 

While Pasta is cooking, wash spinach, shake off extra water and place in a large deep skillet on med heat. Cover and steam spinach for a couple of minutes, just until it wilts.   Remove from heat!

Add  Olive Oil, Garlic, Chilies, Sea Salt to taste (keep in mind you will add Parmesan cheese)  and stir together. 

When Pasta is cooked, drain and add to Spinach mixture.  Stir together, add more oil if needed. 

 Add chopped Tomatoes on top and stir. 

Finish off with Parmesan Cheese and enjoy!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

Leave a Reply

