RSS Feed

GREEN GAZPACHO SOUP

I’ve been making myself these green smoothies after my morning walk/run and I love them! Now, I know from talking to people, not everyone likes the idea of drinking green stuff, I’ve even met people and kids that don’t even EAT, green stuff.  That’s pretty sad considering all the health benefits they alone, provide us with.  So I came up with this idea.  Maybe if we took it out of the glass, put it in a bowl, dressed it up with some tomatoes and olive oil……….

maybe people would eat it instead!

If you’re like me and looking for a fast, easy and delicious way to get more greens into your body…………………..Just a thought!

GREEN GAZPACHO SOUP

1 cup Coconut Milk

1 cup Coconut Water

1/2 to 3/4 cup Raw Almonds (soaked)*

2 large Collard leaves (washed, tough stem removed)

2 large Kale leaves (washed, tough stem removed)

4 med sized Celery stalks (washed and trimmed)

Cilantro, few sprigs (to taste)

1 cup raspberries

2 cups Cucumber, chopped

1 cup Cocktail or Cherry Tomatoes, chopped

Olive Oil

Sea Salt

Cayenne, optional

High Speed Blender or VitaMix:

Add Coconut milk and Almonds and puree

Add Celery, then Greens, Raspberries and only 1 cup of Cucumber

Add the Coconut Water and blend till smooth (you can add more depending on desired consistency)

Should make about 4 cups

Plate and add the rest of the Cucumber and Tomato, drizzle with Olive Oil and season to taste! 

Can be served cold or room temperature

OR……Just put it in a glass and drink the darn thing!  It’s not going to kill you! LOL

*Soak Raw Almonds in twice the water overnight, discard the water and rinse well.  Drain and put in a glass container in the fridge. This rehydrates the Almonds and makes them more digestible!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

4 responses »

  1. This looks delicious and I think I actually have all the bits. Thanks so much for sharing. And I love your story. It really is a journey, isn’t it, figuring out what works best for your body and then stretching the boundaries of tradition to make it al work. Yum.

    Reply
    • Thanks for commenting little sis. I hope you like it as much as I do. My husband even tried it and liked it and he’s fussy. It’s only when you can’t eat something that you start opening yourself up to other options. That is also when you realize there’s so much more to eat than the choices that are in front of your face!

      Reply
  2. Yummy These two recipes look soooo good. Talk to you soon

    Lina

    Date: Sun, 9 Sep 2012 20:06:30 +0000 To: domlisanzo@sympatico.ca

    Reply

Leave a Reply

