RSS Feed

LAMB STEW, PURE AND SIMPLE!

Fall is here, and I’m in the mood to cook!

Just bought some fresh Ontario lamb, and I’m making a stew!  The weather is getting colder and I need some comfort food!  Nothing fancy, just rib sticking, home cooking that is ready and on the table in a little over an hour from start to finish!

 In my stew, I used Mung beans that I had already cooked and cooled.  You can use white Kidney beans or Navy beans as well.

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb sirloin Lamb chop, bone out, cut in pieces

3 cups Butternut Squash, cut up in chunks

1 med Onion, chopped

1\2 cup Strained Tomatoes

1\2 cup Dry White Wine

2 large Garlic Cloves, chopped

1 full tbsp Turmeric

Sea Salt

Hot Chilies

1 cup Mung Beans, cooked or Bean of your choice

Water

Olive oil

METHOD:

In a deep skillet, brown meat on med,  add onions and cook until soft and translucent.  Do not burn the onions!

 

 

 

 

Add the wine and let it come to a boil for a few seconds.

Add the tomato, spices and salt to taste.

 

 Add the Squash and stir in.  Pour enough water to almost cover the top.

Bring to a boil, turn heat to low and cook covered for 1 hr.

Add the beans and continue to cook for about 10 to 15 min. stirring occasionally.

 

 

 

I like to drizzle Olive Oil on top and stir it in before I eat it.  I find it brings out all the rich flavours.

Serve with a side of your favourite steamed greens!

I have Rapini shown in the picture.

Enjoy!

 

Till next time……………………………Mangia!

 

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. This looks absolutely delicious. I think I’ll have to try this recipe.

    Reply
  2. Looks Yummy I will try this, I have been getting so many different recipes. Thanks

    Lina Wow see you next week for the wedding.

    Date: Thu, 8 Nov 2012 17:40:22 +0000 To: domlisanzo@sympatico.ca

    Reply

Leave a Reply

