RSS Feed

MEAT AND VEGGIE PATTIES

To further my STUFFED COLLARDS recipe, here is a recipe that was born after I ended up with left over stuffing.

While giving it the taste test, I realized it was really good, just on its own, and had to stop myself from eating it all!  Which then led me to believe It would make a great side dish as well!  So, on I went getting inspired, and looking at this beautiful concoction, I thought, why not?  Why not throw some eggs,  a little flour and before I knew it, I had created a “Meat and Veggie Patty! How exciting!  My salivary glands were liking this one, oh ya!

So I crossed my fingers, and “TA DAAAA!”  IT’S ALIVE!!!  and super tasty too!

I’ve also tried a vegetarian version as well, using cooked Mung Beans and I think pan-fried Mushrooms would be yummy too!

INGREDIENTS

1/2 to 1 lb lean ground meat (depending on how meaty)

Or

2 cups (after cooked) Mushrooms, chopped and  pan-fried

Or

1 – 1 1/2 cups (after cooked) Mung Beans

1 1/2 cups Butternut squash, shredded

1 cup Kale, shredded

1/2 med onion finely chopped

4 tbsp Quinoa or Coconut flour

parmesan cheese or goat cheese,

1 hand full Parsley, finely chopped

2-3 med organic eggs (depending on consistency)

Cayenne

Garlic powder

Pinch ginger

Sea salt

METHOD

Brown Meat or Mushrooms or cook Mung Beans and let them cool

Shred Butternut Squash, Kale and Parsley and put in a large bowl, add the cooled meat or veg and mix together

Add Flour, Spices and Eggs, one at a time, and mix together

Check consistency and add enough egg to make the mixture gooey and so it holds together enough

Add the Goat Cheese or Parmesan (to taste) and mix well

It will be too soft to form in your hands so spoon out into pan and flatten into half-inch or so patties

Brown on both sides (few min) on med heat in a little Olive Oil

Lemon Yogurt Sauce

1-1/2 cups goat or Greek plain yogurt

1/3 cup thinly sliced green onions

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 small garlic clove, mashed

Sea salt to taste

ENJOY!

4 responses »

  1. Elizabeth Redmond

    My, my, you have been very busy!

    Elizabeth P. Redmond, CA Elizabeth P. Redmond Professional Corporation #39 – 5370 Canotek Road, Ottawa, ON K1J 9G1 Tel: (613)741-1445 Fax: (613) 741-1556 The information contained in this e-mail is confidential information intended only for the addressee(s).If you have received this email in error, pleasenotify me by telephone (collect if necessary) anddelete or destroy any copies.

    ________________________________

    Reply
  2. So super delicious! Brilliant idea to use cooked mung beans and quinoa flour for binding:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

