RSS Feed

YUMMY GLUTEN FREE “CANDIED GINGER & CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES”

After having cravings for chocolate chip cookies, I thought I better find a recipe and fast!  This is not an original recipe, since I don’t do much baking.  I found this recipe in the Alive Magazine, but I tweaked it a lot to suit my taste!  First of all, I really cut down the sugar, even if it was Palm Sugar, sugar is sugar.  I mean, how much sugar is really necessary?  I don’t like to feel like my teeth are rotting when I’m eating my desert!  That way,  I can eat more, right?

 Also, Walnuts work great in this recipe as well, so if you’re not a Ginger lover, feel free to put chopped Walnuts instead!

Here is my well tweaked recipe,  hope you like it!

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup Almond butterIMG_2572
2 tbsp Coconut Palm Sugar
2 med org Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla
3 tbsp Coconut Flour
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/4 tsp Sea Salt
1/2 cup Chocolate Chips
3 tbsp Candied Ginger, rinsed well and finely chopped

OR

1/4 cup Walnuts, chopped

METHOD

In a bowl, add Almond Butter and sugar and mix well

Add Eggs and vanilla and beat well

Fold in Flour, baking soda and Salt

It will be thick and dense at this point

Add Chocolate Chips, Ginger or Walnuts and blend well

IMG_2571

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease a cookie sheet with Coconut Oil

Scoop out dough with a teaspoon,  roll into a ball and place on the sheet

Repeat, leaving a couple of inches between

When your done rolling, take a fork, dip it in water and flatten out each ball

I made 20 cookies that were about 2 1/2 in diameter

Bake at 350F  for  14 – 15 min

Enjoy!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

7 responses »

  1. I really admire people who bake gluten free! 🙂 I am not sure if I could do it…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

