RSS Feed

LENTIL STEW

This is another dish I grew up with, lets call it Lentil Stew.  It’s a little different from my Mom’s, in the way that my Mother used to make it with pasta.  spaghetti, broken into one inch or so pieces, so yummy!  So I decided to try it with Quinoa and although it did not have that starchiness to it, it was delicious!

IMG_2806

This dish is fast and easy to make, Vegetarian and Vegan, high in protein and is sure to please on those chilly days, when you need something to warm you up inside and out!  The Olive Oil is added at the end, in your bowl.  This makes the flavours come alive and feel velvety in your mouth, a real taste sensation! Add some chillies for heat and your good to go!

LENTIL STEW

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup Lentils, rinsed

3 cups Water

1 large Onion, chopped

1 large stalk Celery, chopped

1 tbsp Strained Tomato

Sea Salt

Red Chilies

Quinoa or Rice

Organic EV Olive Oil

METHOD

Cook Quinoa or Rice to Al Dente and set aside

IMG_2800

In a sauce pan, bring water to boil,

Add Lentils, Onion and tomato

Turn heat to low and cook covered for about 15 min

IMG_2802

Add chopped Celery, salt to taste and continue cooking, about 10 min, or until lentils are soft

IMG_2803

Add cooked Quinoa or Rice (as much as you like, depending on what consistency you want)

Keep in mind the Quinoa or Rice will soak up some liquid

Turn heat off, cover and let stand for 5 to 10 min

IMG_2806

Plate and drizzle at least 1 tbsp of Olive Oil all over and if you like some heat, sprinkle with red chilli flakes

IMG_2808

This version has raw, chopped Baby Spinach!

Enjoy!!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

5 responses »

  1. Yum! Looks delicious and its so very nutritious!

    Reply
  2. Looks simple and hearty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

