RSS Feed

STRACIATELLA SOUP ” ANGIE STYLE”

Straciatella soup, has to be one of the most delicious and soothing soups!  Here’s just one idea on turning it into a meal!

I always use My Own Stock from scratch.

 

STRACIATELLA SOUP

INGREDIENTS

3 cups Chicken Broth

1 Chicken Breast  (raw and cut into small pieces OR use the chicken from the stock if you just made it)

1 Large cage free Organic Egg

Shredded Cheese, or Parmesan

1 Tbsp Oat Bran

1 Large Handful of  Organic Arugula, or Spinach

Red Chillies for heat

METHOD

IMG_2765

In a saucepan, bring stock to boil.  Add either the chicken from the stock, if you just made it or take a chicken breast, cut it into small pieces and add to stock, turn heat to med.   This, will be extra tasty!  Take care not to overcook because it will become rubbery!  A few minuets should do it.

IMG_2767

In a measuring cup, add egg and beat.  Add Oat Bran and mix. Pour into soft boiling broth.

IMG_2768

Stirring constantly and quickly till the egg has coagulated and looks like cheese!

IMG_2772

Add the Arugula or Spinach and Chillies and stir in.

IMG_2773

Ready to plate!

Add Shredded Cheese or Parmesan

IMG_2780

And Eat!!!

Enjoy!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

One response »

  1. i had a lobster version of this recipes….
    Your version sounds great !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

