RSS Feed

CABBAGE CHILI

This was my very first post, along with a smoothie recipe, but I don’t feel it gets much viewing because of my format then,  so, I have decided, since it’s so good, it deserves its own attention and it’s the perfect time of year for it!

20120418-150859.jpg

CABBAGE CHILI

INGREDIENTS

This dish is great with Brown Rice or Quinoa, on the side, or on its own!  Also, for a vegetarian version, leave out the beef and substitute with Mushrooms or not!

1 lb Lean Ground Meat (organic)
2 cups Cabbage, med chopped
2 med Leeks, chopped (whites only)
1 can Kidney Beans, rinsed well
2 cups Tomato puree
1/2 cup good White Wine, or water
2 tsp garlic powder or chopped fresh
Sea Salt (to taste)
Hot Chilies
Olive Oil

METHOD

In a deep skillet with a lid, brown meat on med heat and discard excess grease

Rinse chopped Leeks and add to meat

Stir together and add chopped Cabbage

Mix well and cook on med low till soft

Add Wine or Water and bring to boil on med high

Add Tomato puree, Kidney Beans, garlic, salt and Hot Chilies

Cover and turn heat to low

Simmer for about 30 min or until Cabbage is soft

Plate and drizzle with Olive Oil.

Adding the Olive Oil at the end, brings all the flavors out and enhances  your dish, as well as keeping the oil in a super healthy state!

Enjoy!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

7 responses »

  1. Adding in cabbage is a fun idea. I like the the picture too.

    Reply
  2. This sounds really great. I’m planning on making a turkey chili soon so I might use some inspiration. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Nice kick’in cabbage dish,
    lovin it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

