RSS Feed

NON-DAIRY MILKSHAKE

IMG_2392Everyone loves a good milkshake!   If you’re dairy free, this is can be very difficult to achieve a palatable drink.
I discovered this combination in one of my experimental modes.   Looking to get everything I needed for,  all around good nourishment and sustenance in a glass!
I believe I have perfected it!  The combination of Almond milk with coconut milk, I think, is really delicious!  You can even add a little Pure Vanilla Extract as well.  Yummy to drink all on its own!
This drink is very filling because if its high protein and natural essential fatty content.
My favourite fruit combo is Blueberry, Pineapple.
If you add Banana, you have to use a lot more liquid.
INGREDIENTS
3/4 cup Almond Milk
3/4 cup Coconut Milk
(I use this combination because it gives a creamy texture and taste!)
1 tbsp Chia seeds
1 tbsp Hemp seeds
1/2 cup mixed seeds and walnuts almonds,  soaked
(Sesame, Pumpkin, Sunflower, Walnuts, Almonds, all Raw and soaked for at least 2-3 hours)
*soaking releases the natural toxins and makes them more digestible!*
FLAVOUR OPTIONS
Strawberries
Papaya w some seeds (seeds kill parasites)
Mango
Blueberries
Pineapple
*Plain yogurt
METHOD
Add the liquid to your Vita-Mix or high-speed blender and add nuts and seeds.  Blend well!
Add fruit, to taste and blend.  Do not over blend!   If it gets too thick add more liquid to desired thickness.
Pour into a lovely glass and drink!
*makes 3 1/2 cups or more depending on what you use!  If you’re not sharing, pour excess into a glass right to the top, cover and refrigerate.  Drink within 12-24 hours.
ENJOY!
About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

4 responses »

  1. summerraspberries

    I’ve just bought almond milk today and going to try it. Some people says it taste disgusting, other loves it. It always good to eat diary free! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you and I don’t know what people are talking about when they say disgusting?? Really? Anyway, I buy the organic non sweetened and I find it tastes very close to milk. And I love it blended with coconut milk, it gives it a richness. You can play with the proportions to your taste and you can add a little vanilla too! You can also make your own Almond Milk! You can find out how on the web! Enjoy!

      🙂

      Reply
  2. Thanks for the recipe 🙂 I love milk shakes, and definitely would like to try it :))))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

