RSS Feed

CURRIED QUINOA SALAD WITH SAUERKRAUT

CURRIED QUINOA SALAD WITH SAUERKRAUT

INGREDIENTS

1 cup Quinoa, rinsed
1/2 cup Coconut Milk
1/2 cup Water
4 Cardamom pods, whole
Pinch of Sea Salt

1/4 cup Mung Beans, cooked
1tsp Curry powder
Cayenne powder or Chillies
1 or more tbsp Organic Olive Oil
1 cup Sauerkraut, chopped

METHOD

Combine water and coconut milk in a saucepan, add the Cardamom and salt, bring to boil and add Quinoa. Stir, cover and reduce heat to low. Cook for 8 min. (Al Dente)

Remove from heat, stir and let cool, semi covered. Remove Cardamom pods.

In a bowl, blend Quinoa with cooked Mung Beans. Add Spices to taste, Olive Oil and then Chopped Sauerkraut. Stir together and eat!

Serve warm or room temp! Delish!

Makes a delicious side or eat on its own.

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

Leave a Reply

