RSS Feed

PAN FRIED PICKEREL WITH SPINACH AND SUNDRIED TOMATO LIME CHUTNEY

image

I love Pickerel! I think its my favourite fresh water fish besides Rainbow Trout. It’s a beautiful white, mild, flaky fish, that’s almost meaty! You’ll want to pan fry this baby, doesn’t take long and is so delicious with the vegetable chutney I whipped up to complement it!

INGREDIENTS

Pickerel Filet(s)
Baby Spinach (about 4 handfuls, rinsed and drained)
1/2 med Onion, chopped
3 or 4 Sun dried Tomatoes, chopped
2 Limes
2 tbsp Unsalted Butter
1 tbsp Olive Oil
Sea Salt
Chili Flakes, optional

METHOD

You will need a skillet with a lid. Heat Butter and Olive Oil on med, add onion and Sun Dried Tomatoes and sauté for a couple of minutes. Add the juice of one lime, stir and add wet spinach. Cover till spinach is wilted, couple of minutes. Stir together and transfer on to a plate.

Season fish filet with sea salt and place in hot skillet on med heat. Add a bit more oil if needed. Cook on one side for 3-4 min or until fish becomes white and starts to flake. Flip carefully and brown the other side, few min. Sprinkle with Chili Flakes.

Plate and add the chutney. Squeeze some lime juice on the fish and get ready for a taste sensation!

image

Enjoy!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

Leave a Reply

