RSS Feed

MUSHROOM AND POTATO STIR FRY WITH TOMATO AND CILANTRO

This is part of the article,  The Health Benefits of Mushroom Consumption,  from my favourite Health Website  Mercola.com  about Mushrooms.   I love mushrooms but never realized how good they were for you.  I will definitely be eating more mushrooms!

By Dr. Mercola:
Mushrooms contain some of the most powerful natural medicines on the planet. About 100 species are being studied for their health-promoting benefits, and about a half-dozen really stand out for their ability to deliver a tremendous boost to your immune system.

Nine recently presented studies on mushrooms detail a wide variety of health benefits, including: improved weight management, improved nutrition, increased vitamin D levels, and improved immune system function.

One of the active medicinal compounds found in Cordyceps has been identified as a potential cancer drug. More recent studies suggest it also has potent anti-inflammatory characteristics that may be helpful for those suffering from: asthma, rheumatoid arthritis, renal failure, and stroke damage.

It’s important to eat ONLY organically grown mushrooms because they absorb and concentrate whatever they grow in. Mushrooms are known to concentrate heavy metals, as well as air and water pollutants, so healthy growing conditions is a critical factor.

Mushrooms that can help boost the nutrient content of your diet include: shiitake, reishi, cordyceps, turkey tail, and Himematsutake.

*****************************************************************************************************************

It was a rainy day today, so besides going to my exercise class, I was bad and stayed in instead of going grocery shopping! I realized this at about 4:00 and suddenly freaked out! So off to the fridge I went to see what I had and what do you know! I had just bought some shiitake and King Oyster mushrooms to try after reading this article. Along with a few other things I had………

This is what I came up with!

MUSHROOM AND POTATO STIR FRY WITH TOMATO AND CILANTRO

20130515-193341.jpg

INGREDIENTS

3 med sized Organic potatoes
Mushrooms, chopped, as much as you want, what ever type
1 cup chopped Eggplant
1 cup Strained Tomatoes
Fresh Garlic
Fresh Cilantro, chopped
Olive Oil
Sea Salt
Cayenne

METHOD

20130515-194424.jpg
Chop up Mushrooms and sauté in a deep skillet on med until they start to sweat.
Lightly pour olive oil over the mushrooms, just enough to coat and continue to cook on med.

20130515-195937.jpg
Add chopped garlic, eggplant, stir together and continue cooking for a few min till the eggplant becomes soft.

20130515-200200.jpg
Add Tomato and seasoning to taste, stir well and cook until the tomato reduces and starts to caramelize.

20130515-200718.jpg
Add the potatoes stir together and cover. Continue to cook stirring every few minutes so the bottom doesn’t burn. It’s ready when you can easily pierce the potato.

20130515-201019.jpg
This is what it should look like.

20130515-201301.jpg
Sprinkle with chopped Cilantro and serve! If you don’t like Cilantro, you can use Parsley.  I like the Cilantro in this dish, but definitely adding some green, makes those taste buds pop!

Delicious room temperature too!

Mangia!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

5 responses »

  1. looks very nice and delicious!

    Reply
  2. Never had stir fried carbo food like potatoes before,
    tempting to try….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

