RSS Feed

GARLIC SHRIMP WITH BABY BOK CHOY

I find Bok Choy a very interesting and versatile vegetable. It is related to the cabbage and turnip. The bulb has the same spiciness as the turnip, but milder.  It is rich in vitamin C and A, and a good source of fibre and folic acid. It also offers calcium and has more beta-carotene than other cabbages.

I think it’s great in soups, just chop some up and put it in your soup! It’s so tender it will cook just with the heat of your soup. If you steam it, beware! It will be ready in seconds. Don’t overcook it, there’s nothing worse than limp Bok Choy!

If you have never eaten Bok Choy, maybe this will tempt you to try it! Here is a fast, easy and delicious way to tempt you!

GARLIC SHRIMP WITH BABY BOK CHOY

IMG_2934

INGREDIENTS

4 – 6 Baby Bok Choy, cut into pieces

12 Raw Shrimp

Garlic, raw fresh, as much as you like

Hot Chilies

2 tbsp Olive Oil

1\2 cup or so of Chicken or Veg stock

Sea Salt, to taste

METHOD

IMG_2936

In a skillet, on med, add Olive Oil, Garlic and Chilies.  Saute for a couple of min, not to burn the Garlic then add the Shrimp and stir.

IMG_2937

Cook Shrimp for about 2 min on each side.

IMG_2938

Lay the chopped, Bok Choy on top, cover and steam for a min or so, untill soft.  Remove lid and stir together.  Add Stock,  and Salt to taste.  Stir and continue to cook for a couple of min.  Remove from heat.

IMG_2941IMG_2942

It is now ready to serve with Rice or Pasta (gluten-free or otherwise) OR serve all on its own!

Mangia!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

5 responses »

  1. You had me at garlic shrimp, Angie! And the lovely green bok choy makes an amazing color, flavor and crunch combination with the shrimp!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

