RSS Feed

GLOBAL MARCH AGAINST MONSANTO!

My post today is on an issue that seems to haunt me whether I like it or not! So here I am to share my concern with you! My concern is not to upset or freak anybody out, just to make you think!

*********

This is an excerpt taken from Yahoo news.

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Two million people marched in protest against seed giant Monsanto in hundreds of rallies across the U.S. and in over 50 other countries on Saturday.

“March Against Monsanto” protesters say they wanted to call attention to the dangers posed by genetically modified food and the food giants that produce it. Founder and organizer Tami Canal said protests were held in 436 cities in 52 countries.

Genetically modified plants are grown from seeds that are engineered to resist insecticides and herbicides, add nutritional benefits or otherwise improve crop yields and increase the global food supply. Most corn, soybean and cotton crops grown in the United States today have been genetically modified. But some say genetically modified organisms can lead to serious health conditions and harm the environment. The use of GMOs has been a growing issue of contention in recent years, with health advocates pushing for mandatory labeling of genetically modified products even though the federal government and many scientists say the technology is safe.

*********

I don’t know how many, if any of you were aware of the GLOBAL March against Monsanto yesterday, May 25, 2013! There are many Utube videos to view if you’re interested! I urge you, if you care anything about your health or the planet, to get informed on what GIANT corporations like Monsanto are doing to you, the food chain and the planet!

It seems, at a glance, with the number of companies in on this, (to a depth you could not imagine), and the lack of involvement of our Governments, that we are all science experiments! This gives a whole new meaning to the phrase, “Only the strong will survive!” What exactly do they have in store for us?????

Does anyone have the Movie “Soylent Green” FLASHING in their minds????

Pardon me if I’m sounding over dramatic, but seriously, try to detach yourself from your body for a moment and use that thing on your shoulders that contains THE BRAIN! It’s an amazing organ!

I don’t know how we can ‘undo’ this situation that has been quietly forced upon us, in the name of Science. The tentacles are so deep and the money involved is astronomical! It does seem we are on the losing side.

The only thing we can hope for right now, is having the RIGHT of CHOICE, which seems to have been taken away from us! Quietly, of course!

If you care, exercise your Right of Choice! Know what you’re eating! Read your labels kids!!!!!

Have a great day!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

Leave a Reply

