RSS Feed

POTATO CROQUETTES!

The weather has been very weird lately. Just when you think the nice weather has arrived, we get blasted with more winter! At least it feels like it. I find the cold weather makes me want to cook and eat comfort food.

Today, I thought I’d try something my Mom used to make, that I loved, Croquettes. I love anything potato and although I don’t eat them too often, today was a potato day!

My Moms’ version was potato, (cooked of course), put through a ricer and then parsley, garlic, egg and Parmesan cheese was added. She hand formed them into fat looking cigars, then rolled them in flour and were pan-fried in olive oil till golden brown!

I can still remember waiting patiently for her to put them on a plate so I could devour one, or two. They were so delicious and fluffy and almost fell apart if you didn’t handle them with respect!

Well, I tried the ricer, which I borrowed from a friend, but that didn’t work out! I guess I’m not ricer savvy, Hehe. So I ditched it and used a fork.

These are nowhere near the ones my Mother used to make, but they did turn out quite tasty!

IMG_2958

Hope you like them!

CHUNKY POTATO CROQUETTES

INGREDIENTS

1 med Sweet Potato
2 or 3 med reg Potato
2 med Eggs
1 large clove Garlic, chopped
Parsley, chopped
1/2 cup Goat Cheese, crumbled
Cayenne
Sea salt
Olive oil, for frying
METHOD
Boil potatoes and let cool.
Peel and place in a bowl. Β With a fork chop up the Potatoes and mash most of it, leaving some small chunks.
IMG_2944
Add chopped Parsley, Garlic, Egg and crumbled Goat Cheese.Β  Mix well and season with Salt and Cayenne.
IMG_2947
With a large spoon, scoop out mixture in a long shape and pan fry on med, with a little olive oil, till golden brown on all sides, (few min).
IMG_2953IMG_2954
Delicious, straight out of the pan, or room temperature!
IMG_2964
Mangia!!
About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

5 responses »

  1. So lovely ! Loved the thoughts first of all and loved the recipe too ! I have nave seen so easy and yummy dish with potatoes. My mom used to make something like this but in a round shape and with some more spices. This looks so yummy yet easy ! Would love trying it πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply
  2. My brother recommended I might like this web site.
    He was once totally right. This submit truly made my day.
    You cann’t imagine simply how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

