RSS Feed

CHOCOLATE CHIP, PECAN, GLUTEN FREE COOKIE

I was in the mood for chocolate chip cookies tonight, so I thought I would borrow my chocolate chip, ginger cookie recipe and change it up a bit. I only had one egg and was low on sugar so I took a chance on it working out with just one egg. What happened was, it made a crunchier cookie! We couldn’t wait till they where cold so we ate them warm and they were really yummy!!

Nice light crunch on the outside and soft in the middle.

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup Almond Butter
3 tbsp Maple Syrup
1 tbsp Coconut Oil
1 med org Egg
1 tsp Vanilla
1/4 cup Coconut Flour
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/4 tsp Sea Salt
1/2 cup Chocolate Chips
Pecan halves, for garnish

METHOD

In a bowl, add Almond Butter, Coconut oil, Egg, Maple Syrop, Vanilla, and mix well. Fold in Flour, Baking Soda and Salt. It will become a thick Paste. Add Chocolate chips and stir till blended evenly.

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease cookie sheets with Coconut oil.

Using a tbsp measure, scoop dough and scrape off excess. Remove with a small spatula or knife, and roll into a ball. Place on cookie sheet. Repeat, leaving a couple inches between. With a fork, dip it in water and flatten out, (this will keep it from sticking to the fork). Decorate with pecans on top.

Bake at 350F for 14 – 15 min

Let cool on sheet and remove with a spatula.

Makes up to 24 depending on size.

20130807-210959.jpg

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

2 responses »

  1. I like the sound of using pecans in chocolate chip cookies…Great idea! And your recipe sounds divine with the coconut oil and maple syrup flavors:)

    Reply
    • Thank you Peri! I have to say, being a novice baker, this combination of ingredients really worked, to give a gluten free cookie, a true chocolate chip cookie taste! I was very surprised and impressed not to mention the happy face on my husband! Lol!

      Amazing what you can achieve when you’re desperate for chocolate! Lol 🙂

      p.s. love the peppers! Similar to what I grew up on! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

