RSS Feed

GLUTEN FREE PUMPKIN MUFFINS

Fall is here and pumpkins are everywhere!

Pumpkin pie is something you either have a taste for or not. I remember the first time I tried it, I was unpleasantly surprised! I tried it a few more times, different recipes and came the same conclusion……no thanks!

This year I decided to make my own version of pumpkin desserts. The problem for me, is that I thought pumpkin tasted bland. That’s why people spice them up and too often add too much sugar. So I researched a bunch of recipes and came up with my own, mixing gluten-free flours and using spices I liked and keeping my sweetener of choice (real Maple syrup) to a minimum. Knowing this was purely experimental, I proceeded full speed ahead accepting what ever happened.  Surprisingly to me, they turned out great and were a huge hit!

IMG_3129

I always get a kick out of people’s reactions when I tell them they’re gluten-free!

PUMPKIN MUFFINS

INGREDIENTS

WET
1/2 cup of Pumpkin purée  (homemade or canned)
4 large Eggs
1/3 cup Maple Syrup
2/3 cup Yogurt
2 tbsp Butter (very soft)

DRY
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons of Coconut flour
1/4 cup Almond flour
2 tbsp Oat-Bran
1/2 cup Pecans, rough chop
1/4 teaspoon of Baking Soda
1/4 teaspoon of Sea Salt
1/2 teaspoon Nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of Ginger, I used fresh

TOPPING
1/4 cup Pecans, chopped
1 tbsp Palm Sugar

*I used a food processor

METHOD

In a bowl, combine wet ingredients

In another bowl blend together the dry ingredients

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and blend well

Let the batter sit for 5 minutes to allow the Coconut flour to absorb the moisture

Grease a mini muffin tin and add batter by spoonfuls

IMG_3126

IMG_3127

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sprinkle topping on muffins

Preheat your oven to 350°F

Bake the minis for about 20 minutes

IMG_3128

*makes 24 delicious minis

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

4 responses »

  1. Yum to the muffins will be trying tomorrow. thanks

    Reply
  2. Angie, as a gluten-free diner, these Pumpkin Muffins sound fantastic! Perhaps when we get back home I can give the recipe a whirl. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

