RSS Feed

GLUTEN-FREE PUMKIN PIE

GLUTEN-FREE PUMPKIN PIE

I called my Blog Angie’s Food Adventures for a reason, I love experimenting with food!

I also like finding ways to produce great tasting food with the fewest ingredients and the least amount of time spent in the kitchen!

This is another experiment of mine using Pumpkin! I’ve combined a few different recipes, changed them up to appeal to my taste and my gluten-free requirements. I was very happy with the result and the got thumbs up from everyone who tried it!

Hope you like it too!

20131020-144803.jpg

GLUTEN-FREE PECAN PUMPKIN PIE

CRUST
1 1/2 cups Pecans
6 Majool Dates
1 tbsp Palm Sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground Cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon Sea Salt
1/4 cup Butter, or Coconut Oil

FILLING
15-ounces fresh or canned Pumpkin Puree
1 cup Yogurt or Creme cheese, softened
4 large Eggs
1/2 cup Maple Syrup +2 tbsp
1 tsp ground Ginger, fresh
1 tsp ground Nutmeg
1 tsp ground Cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon Sea Salt

METHOD

CRUST
Prepare an 8 1/2 by 8 1/2 inch pan by brushing all over with Coconut Oil or Butter

Place all ingredients in food processor and pulse until it looks like crumble and well incorporated.
*Do not over pulse! You don’t want to make it into a paste!

Press evenly into the bottom of the pan with a spatula

image

image
Place whole Pecans on top and set aside

Prepare filling

FILLING
In a large bowl, add the Pumpkin, Yogurt OR Cream Cheese, Maple Syrup, Ginger, Nutmeg, Cinnamon and Sea Salt and blend well.

In a 2 cup measure, beat Eggs and add to mixture. Blend well and pour slowly, on top of the Crumble mixture. Pecans will float up into mixture

image

Place in 350 degree oven and bake for 1 hour and 30 min or until the centre has firmed up.
Test by sticking a toothpick in and if it comes out clean, it’s ready

image
image
ENJOY!

About Angie's Food Adventures

I thought I could cook in my early twenties, then I found out that Mac and Cheese and Ham Steaks wasn't really cooking. Then I met some vegetarians and tried that for a while. Learned a lot. In my thirties I started craving my Italian roots so I started really paying attention to family recipes. By the time I was 40 I had gained about 20 lbs and had my first gallbladder attack. Note to self: simple carbs are not for me! That's when my journey into healthy eating began. Since then, I've read and researched and read....I've tried a lot of diets and lifestyles and I can honestly say, I've finally established my own way of cooking and preparing food that agrees with me, still keeping to my roots and beyond!

Leave a Reply

